Chinese  About Us  Mission Statement  Library  Contact Us 
Home | Greeting from University President | Academic Programs | Research | Schools | International & Domestic Cooperation
  Academic Programs
Brief Introduction
Provincial-Ministry-Level Key Disciplines
Provincial Undergraduate Specialties with Unique Features
Provincial-Ministry-Level Key Labs
State-Level Undergraduate Specialties with Unique Features
Provincial Teaching Team
Talent Cultivation Base
Post-Doctoral Mobile Research Station
First-Level Discipline for Doctoral Degree Granting
Second-Level Disciplines for Doctoral Degree Granting
First-Level Disciplines for Master's Degree Granting
Professional Master’s Degree Programs
Position: Home>Academic Programs>Brief Introduction
Brief Introduction

Southwest Minzu University (SMU) was established in 1951 and affiliated with the National Ethnic Affairs Commission of the People’s Republic of China. It is a university jointly developed by the National Ethnic Affairs Commission, the People’s Government of Chengdu, the People’s Government of Sichuan Province, and the Ministry of Education. SMU has been adhering to the mission of “serving ethnic groups and ethnic regions, and contributing to the national development strategy”. As a comprehensive university, SMU has a wide range of disciplines covering 12 categories: humanities, history, philosophy, economy, management, law, education, science, engineering, agriculture, medicine and arts.

SMU, covering an area of approximately 200 hectares, consists of three campuses in Chengdu, namely Wuhou Campus, Hangkonggang Campus and Taipingyuan Campus, and the Qinghai-Tibetan Plateau Ecological Protection and High-tech Research Demonstration Base for Animal Husbandry in Hongyuan County of the Aba Tibetan and Qiang Autonomous Prefecture. Furthermore, it boasts a unique Museum of Ethnic Groups as well as a Tibetan Literature Museum and a Yi Literature Museum, both the largest of their kinds in the world. SMU has 1.12 million square meters of building space.

SMU has over 30,000 full-time students from 56 ethnic groups and up to 3,000 faculty members. Among them over 570 are PhD and MA supervisors, 54 entitled to special subsidies from the State Council, 4 included by the National “Ten Thousand Talent Program”, 2 listed by the New Century “Hundred, Thousand and Ten Thousand Talent Project” at the national level, 2 included on the list of the “Cultural Masters and Four-Batch Talents” by the Publicity Department of the CPC Central Committee, 1 selected as a young talent for the promotion of ideology and culture by the Publicity Department of the CPC Central Committee, 8 listed in the “New Century Excellent Talent Support Plan” of the Ministry of Education, 160 included in the Talent Plan of Sichuan Province, and 66 included the talent plan of the National Ethnic Affairs Commission.

SMU has 25 colleges, 2 postdoctoral research stations, 1 postdoctoral innovation practice base, 3 first-level disciplines which are authorized to award doctoral degrees, 24 first-level disciplines which are authorized to award master’s degrees, 13 professional master’s degree authorization units, and 88 undergraduate programs. In addition, it has 9 first-level provincial and ministerial key disciplines and 13 programs which have been approved to carry out “Outstanding Talent Education and Training Plans” at the provincial level or above, including 4 national “Outstanding Talent Education and Training Plans”. There are 3 national and 7 provincial first-class undergraduate program construction units, 6 national and 10 provincial undergraduate featured programs, and 5 provincial undergraduate talent training bases. SMU is recognized as a national “Outstanding Legal Talent Training Base”, “National University Preparatory Education Base”, “National University Practice Education, Innovation and Entrepreneurship Base”, “Off-campus Practice Education Base for the Students of the Universities Affiliated to the Central Ministries and Commissions”, “National Ethnic Affairs Commission Bilingual Talent Fostering Base”, “National Top 50 University with Typical Graduate Employment Experience”, and “National Top 50 University with Typical Innovation and Entrepreneurship Experience”. SMU has been rated ten times in a row as “Sichuan Provincial Advanced Unit for Graduate Employment” and “Sichuan Provincial Advanced Unit of Employment and Entrepreneurship Service for College Students”.

Since 2000, SMU has been granted more than 550 national research projects, including 21 major projects from the National Social Science Fund, 13 major or key projects from the National Science and Technology Plan and other equivalent funds, and 25 projects from the National Art Fund. In addition, SMU has achieved 1,620 provincial and ministerial research projects, published more than 1,200 academic works, and won more than 480 Provincial and Ministerial Outstanding Research Achievement Awards and 1 State Scientific and Technological Progress Award. In particular, SMU’s academic excellence is domestically and internationally recognized in Theory and Technology for Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Medicine and in studies on economy, tourism, cultures and ethnic language processing. Currently, SMU has 2 Provincial (or Ministerial) 2011 Collaborative Innovation Centers, 13 Provincial (or Ministerial) Key Research Bases on Humanities and Social Sciences, 2 Provincial (or Ministerial) Think Tanks, 10 Provincial (or Ministerial) Key Laboratories (including 1 Key Laboratory under the Ministry of Education), 1 Workstation for Academicians, 3 Key Laboratories supervised by Sichuan Province as well as 1 Provincial Key Research Base on Philosophy and Social Sciences. Besides, SMU hosts 3 academic journals, namely, Journal of Southwest Minzu University (Humanities and Social Sciences Edition), Journal of Ethnology and Journal of Southwest Minzu University (Natural Science Edition), with the first two indexed by the Chinese Social Sciences Index (CSSCI), accredited as AMI Core Journals by Chinese Academy of Social Sciences Evaluation Studies (CASSES), and included on the List of Chinese Core Journals developed by Peking University Library, and the latter selected as a Key Magazine of China Technology.

So far, experts, scholars and government officials from more than 70 countries and regions have visited SMU for academic and friendly exchanges. Meanwhile, SMU has established cooperative ties with over 50 institutions including the University of Munich, McGill University, the University of Missouri, Texas Institute of Technology, University of California San Diego, Hosei University, RyuKoku University, Chester University, Cracow University of Economics, Macao University of Science and Technology and Fu Jen Catholic University. Thanks to such ties and its growing influence, SMU has sent approximately 1,000 students to study overseas, and has admitted more than 7,500 students from over 70 countries.

Scholarships available to international students include Chengdu Government Scholarship for International Students from Sister Cities, Chengdu “Belt and Road” Government Scholarship for International Students, President Scholarship for International Students of Southwest Minzu University, and Silk Road Scholarship of Southwest Minzu University.


Copyright © 2014 Southwest Minzu University